Youth For Heritage Foundation is organizing a Heritage Photowalk ‘Tughlaqabad, beyond the cursed fort’ on 1 March, 2015. Tughlaqabad Fort was built by Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq in 1321. It took 7 years for the fort to be built and it is stretched over 6 km. The fort is famous for a curse uttered by a Sufi Saint, ‘Ya rahey ujjar, ya basey gujjar’ which means that the Fort be either remained inhabited or the gujjars would live in it. Gujjars later captured the Fort and it was inhabited by them.
This Photowalk ‘Tughlaqabad, beyond the cursed fort’ will focus on the events of 14th century during which this fort was built under the emperor Ghazi Malik who reigned for 5 years. A discussion will be held, focusing on the history of the Khilji Dynasty, and the curse of the Saint Nizamuddin Auliya.
Sites that will be covered in the Photowalk:
- 2 Gates of Tughlaqabad, discussing how the Gates were designed to prevent enemies
- Bijai Mandal of Tughlaqabad (The Citadel within the Fort)
- Mughal Cantonment, Mosque & township
- Storage Bunkers
- Dar-ul-Aman Island (The Burial site of Zafar Khan and Ghazi Malik)
About the Speaker
Vikramjit Singh Rooprai, founder of India’s first Photography Club, dedicated only to Heritage. And the person behind Youth For Heritage Foundation. He is a heritage lover who likes to venture out to explore the rich heritage of Delhi.
|When||Mar 01, 2015
Mehrauli Badarpur (MB) Road,
|Meeting Point||Tughlaqabad Ticket Counter|
|Speaker||Vikramjit Singh Rooprai|
How to reach
Tughlaqabad is on Mehrauli-Badarpur Road. It’s 4.2 Kms away from Tughlaqabad Metro Station on Badarpur Flyover. People coming from Faridabad can take the Karni Singh Shooting Range road, which leads to Ticket Counter of Tughlaqabad Fort.
For More Information Visit : Youth For Heritage Foundation